Magic Mountains

The Magic Mountains are located in central/northern Portugal, between the Douro and Vouga rivers, ranging the Freita, Arada, Arestal and Montemuro mountains. Its wide territory, covering seven municipalities (Arouca, Castelo de Paiva, Castro Daire, Cinfães, São Pedro do Sul, Sever do Vouga e Vale de Cambra), encompasses a richness of natural and cultural diversity.

This is a land of exceptional nature wonders. The Magic Mountains are connected through ADRIMAG – Association for the rural integrated Development of Montemuro, Arada e Gralheira Mountains, whose work focused on the sustainable development of the region. In 2013, the Magic Mountains were certified as a Sustainable Destination, with the implementation of the principles and methodology of the European Charter for Sustainable Tourism in Protected Areas.

The Magic Mountains, comprised by four Natura 2000 sites and a UNESCO Geopark, is widely recognised as a responsible tourism destination, with touristic offers focused on ecotourism, geotourism and active tourism. Its unique geological phenomena and geomorphology, along with its incredible biodiversity, make the Magic Mountains an excellent destination for the practice of nature and outdoor sport activities such as rafting, kayaking, canoeing, hiking or mountain biking.

Since pre-historical times, men has been choosing this territory to live, has it is witnessed through the numberless archaeological monuments here founded: enigmatic engravings from the Atlantic Art, megalithic monuments, bridges and old roman roads, monasteries and medieval temples, sanctuaries and distinctive churches, authentic villages of schist and granite, historical mines and much, much more.

Read more at:


Montanhas Mágicas          Natura 2000            Arouca Geopark